The Birmingham Art Music Alliance announces the inaugural Birmingham New Music Festival, to take place on August 21, 22, and 23 of 2014. Six diverse programs will offer exhilarating newly-composed music by Alabama-based composers, and five visiting composers selected from an international call – including Rusty Banks (Lancaster, PA), Patrick Greene (Boston, MA), Sarah Horick (Washington DC), Joshua Marquez (Iowa City, IA), and Robert G. Patterson (Memphis, TN). Featured performers include Amion String Quartet, Lori Ardovino (clarinet), Adam Bowles (piano), Kathryn Fouse (piano), Alan Goldspiel (guitar), Craig Hultgren (cello), and Laura Usiskin (cello).

The opening event at Moonlight on the Mountain begins with the 60X60 2012 International Mix – sixty one-minute electronic works presented continuously in an hour performance – followed by a set of improvisatory works facilitated by LaDonna Smith. Two Friday concerts at Brock Recital Hall on the campus of Samford University will feature acoustic chamber music appropriate to the intimate space. The final three programs on Saturday will take place at University of Alabama at Birmingham‘s Hulsey Recital Hall, and include acoustic, electroacoustic, and interdisciplinary works.

All festival events are free and open to the public. The Birmingham New Music Festival is made possible by grants from the Alabama State Council on the Arts, the National Endowment for the Arts, and New Music USA.

Thursday, August 21 (Moonlight on the Mountain)

Friday, August 22 (Brock Recital Hall, Samford University)

  • 4PM: Music by Aurelia Lavette Gooden, Matthew Scott Phillips, Kenneth Kuhn, Alan Goldspiel, Ron Wray, Lori Ardovino, and Patrick Greene
  • 7:30PM: Music by James A. Jensen, Bryan Page, Joseph Landers, and Brian C. Moon

Saturday, August 23 (Hulsey Recital Hall, University of Alabama at Birmingham)

  • 1PM: Music by Ed Robertson, Aubrey Mills, Michael Coleman, Kaija Saariaho, and Sarah Horick
  • 4PM: Music by Cynthia Miller, Wesley Johnson, Raphael Crystal, Mark Lackey, Joshua Marquez, Rusty Banks, and Joel Scott Davis
  • 7:30PM: Music by Robert Patterson, William Price, Philip Schuessler, Holland Hopson, and Monroe Golden